Nintendo 3DS: Extended Play Impressions (Star Fox is Back!)

Star Fox, which wasn’t shown during the press conference, seems like the type of game that the 3DS was born to play. You fly Fox McCloud’s starfighter, firing laser blasts at enemies and dodging through obstacles at high speeds.

The experience translates well to the 3D screen. But I had an issue similar to the one I had when I watched certain scenes of Avatar: my eyes didn’t always know where to focus.

In 2D, your eyes can focus on everything in sight. But in 3D, at least on the 3DS, I found myself focusing on multiple planes, which was bit of workout for the ol’ eyes. And on top of that, my brain was a bit confused between perspective cues (objects growing larger as I approached them) and these new, stereoscopic 3D cues.

What exactly does that mean? It’s simple. I crashed more than I’d expected, and keep in mind, I’m historically really, really good at Star Fox.

And it wasn’t just Star Fox, the same could be said for the new Pilotwings and Kid Icarus titles. (Which to be fair are a similar type of gameplay. )

via Nintendo 3DS: Extended Play Impressions (Star Fox is Back!).

Leave a Reply

